Members of the ACAF

Last updated: 01 June 2023

The Advisory Committee on Animal Feedingstuffs comprises an independent chair and eleven independent members.

Click on the members of the ACAF below to find out their interests and what they're currently working on:

Professor Nicholas Jonsson (Chair)

Professor Nicholas Jonsson is the professor of Animal Health and Production in the School of Biodiversity, One Health and Veterinary Medicine, at the University of Glasgow.

Christine McAlinden

Christine McAlinden a Board-Certified Toxicologist with over 25 years’ experience in the testing and assessment of chemicals, pharmaceuticals, feed additives, cosmetics and biocides.

Martin Briggs

Martin Briggs is a feed industry expert with over 46 years’ experience in farm animal feeds. He has a degree in Applied Biology and is currently an independent feed industry consultant. He was previously  employed as a Technical Manager for GLW Feeds Ltd, a large multi-species compound feed manufacturer, with previous roles as Mill and Operations Managers.

Martin Briggs has an extensive overview and direct practical experience of feed safety, including microbiological, chemical, physical and prevention of contamination, plus salmonella control (involving both heat treatment and biocide treatment of poultry breeder feeds), medicines in feeds, feed manufacturing, feed quality, nutrition and formulations across all farm animal species, plus Health and Safety of feed mill operations including COSHH.

Martin Briggs has been a member of the FSA's Advisory Committee on the Microbiological Safety of Food and the previous AFFAJEG since 2019 and is a member of the Agricultural Industries Federation (AIC – Trade Association) UFAS (Universal feed Assurance Scheme) Working and Review Groups and is also a UKAS Technical AssessorHe has worked on a number of feed industry working groups and has provided training on feed mill auditing and HACCP for Trading Standards Officers. He has experience of undertaking risk assessment for animal feed and the role it has in the human food chain.

Dr Katrina Campbell

Dr Katrina Campbell is a Professor in Food Security and Diagnostics within the Institute for Global Food Security, School of Biological Sciences at Queen’s University Belfast.

Professor Matthew Fisher

Professor Matthew Fisher is an infectious disease epidemiologist with more than 25 years of experience in the field.

Dr Donald Morrison

Dr Donald Morrison is a microbiologist of 30 years’ plus experience working in the field of antimicrobial resistance (AMR).

Susan MacDonald

Susan MacDonald is a chemical safety scientist with over 32 years’ experience working on analysis and providing advice and training on mycotoxins and natural toxins in food and feed. 

Derek Renshaw

Derek Renshaw is an independent toxicologist with over 40 years of experience of assessing the safety of materials, with particular reference to the chemical safety of substances to which humans might be exposed.

Dr Adam Smith

Dr Adam Smith holds a B.Sc. in Animal Sciences from the University of London and a Ph.D. in Poultry Nutrition from Harper Adams University and he currently works for DSM Nutritional Products Ltd.

Dr Helen Warren

Dr Helen Warren achieved her primary degree in Animal Science from the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, followed by her PhD in fatty acids in beef from the Faculty of Medical and Veterinary Sciences at the University of Bristol.

Nick Wheelhouse

Nick Wheelhouse is currently an Associate Professor and Research Lead in Microbiology at Edinburgh Napier University, he holds a BSc in Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition from Newcastle University and a PhD in Animal Science from the University of Aberdeen.

Dr Michael Salter

Dr. Michael Salter is a scientific advisor to the senior leadership team of AB Agri Ltd. He has worked for the past 8 years as an innovation scout and research manager for AB Agri looking to understand innovation in the commercial livestock industry.